Nov 14 Supermoon Biggest and Closest of the Century!

Admin | Published 2016-11-03 09:34

Monday, November 14, 2016, a supermoon will illuminate the sky. A spectacle that will looked forward to by astrophotographers and skygazers all over the world.

The Nov 14 supermoon will be the biggest and the closest since in nearly 70 years according to National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). It's fullest and brightest will be exactly 1:52 pm UTC, or 8:52 am ET.   When and where - for best view of supermoon? North America and Europe will have its best view of the supermoon most likely on the November 13. Skygazers in Asia should be able to catch the supermoon at its largest at 9:52 p.m Hong Kong time. In India, 7:22 pm. US West Coast will catch the supermoon 5:52 am PST. The last biggest supermoon occurred in January 26, 1948.  

Image Source: Wikipedia

  What makes a 'supermoon'? The full moon or a new moon makes the closest approach, around 90% nearer to earth on its elliptical orbit. It is technically called perigee-syzygy. A supermoon comes within approximately 360,000 km of Earth. Supermoons appears 14% larger and 30% brighter.  

Image Source: Wikipedia - Ed Fitzgerald

Another biggest supermoon will take 20 years to appear again. That is in November 25, 2034.
Hey! Where are you going?? Subscribe!

Get weekly science updates in your inbox!